30 Days of Organization

30 Days of Organization: Day 7

Snow day! Snow day! Snow day!!! School’s closed because it. is. FREEZING! So, why not use today to organize the coat closet and bust out some of those winter parkas! This is what my coat closet currently looks like:

DSCN0067 DSCN0069 DSCN0072

I mean…come on! I have random workout equipment in there, I can’t find a pair of matching gloves to save my life and is that a bat?? Time to get organized! To start, I needed to come up with a way to organize the gloves, mittens, hats and scarves. I already have those great crates on the top shelf, but they are loaded with random things. I want to keep the gloves and hats separate from the scarves and snow pants, so I bought an over-the-door shoe organizer…It was only $4! With the separate and clear pockets I can keep matching mittens and gloves together and actually find what I’m looking for without digging through crates! I also thought it would be good to keep all of those water bottles that are constantly falling out of my cupboards in one place. This is what a shoe organizer can do for you in your coat closet:

DSCN0074 DSCN0075 DSCN0076

I then went through all of our coats. Some of them we haven’t worn in years and it is just time to let go. Off to the Salvation Army they go! There were also many unused hangers just poking out everywhere…ew, goodbye. As for the random workout equipment and all of my husband’s shoes laying on the floor, I got a great closet shelving organizer to hang from the rail. Lastly, I re-organized and re-labeled the crates on the top shelf…since the gloves and hats are no longer in them, I can use one specifically for snow pants and one for scarves and hoods! Voila!

DSCN0078  DSCN0079

*Sigh of relief* My organization is done for the day! Time to enjoy my first snow day as a teacher and go curl up on the couch with a Harry Potter marathon!

4 thoughts on “30 Days of Organization: Day 7

  1. I loveeee your blog! I’m so OCD but I haven’t been as organized as I would like since miss Mila came into the picture. Come help me 🙂

Leave a Reply

