30 Days of Sweet Gifts

30 Days of Sweet Gifts: Day 1

Giving thoughtful and cute gifts is one of my very favorite things to do. Nothing brings me more happiness than seeing someone I love smile. Whether it’s with a card, something baked or something made, I love making that smile happen.  Having just celebrated Valentine’s Day (which is one of my favorite holidays of the year – I don’t care what you haters have to say about it) I figured this would be the perfect time to do “30 Days of Sweet Gifts.” For the next 30 days I will be creating and giving small, but sweet, gifts to friends and family. My hope is that something over the next 30 days inspires you to make someone smile.

For an extra sweet kick-off, today’s post is all about creating a super sweet Valentine’s dessert (let’s see how many times I can say “sweet” in one post). They say the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach and, in the case of my husband, this saying is totally true. Mike has a sweet tooth like no other so every Valentine’s Day he gets the obvious…candy and dessert. This year I wanted to get creative, so I decided to make one of his favorites (apple pie) with a sweet little twist: heart crust.

It’s really simple: just prepare your crust and your filling like you normally would for apple pie. However, rather than putting the top layer of crust on and calling it a day, you are going to make cut out hearts from the dough:

Pie cut outs

 Then, take those cut outs and layer them on top of the pie filling like this:

Heart Pie first layer  Heart Pie Second Layer Heart Pie ready to bake

You’ll want to make sure the first layer that you put down is connected well to the bottom crust (you don’t want any of your filling spilling out over the edges as the pie bakes). Pinch the curved parts of each heart into the edge of the bottom crust just enough to connect them while still maintaining that heart shape. When your pie is ready, pop it into the oven!

Finished Heart Pie

It’s the perfect dessert after a Valentine’s Day dinner! I also think this would be a great, homemade gift to give to a neighbor or friend. Just wrap it up in a pretty dish towel, put it in a cute wicker basket and send it on its way!

Leave a Reply

