Peru 2014

Travel not going according to plan? Whatever, you’re in Peru!

Day 1

I’m here! I’m here! I’m in Peru! Let me tell you, it’s been one hell of a morning. My flight from JFK to Lima, Peru was beautiful. I was “upgraded” to a seat with way more leg room and with no one next to me because they accidentally assigned me to a flight attendant’s seat originally. Um, how do you mess that one up? Whatevs, I’ll take it! I was so beat from the drive (and the fact that it was 2am) that I passed out for a good portion of the flight. That means I wasn’t anxious about turbulence at all! Believe it or not that’s a huge accomplishment for me. I never allow myself to fall asleep on a plane because I get so anxious and feel like I need to be awake in case anything should happen…as if I could do anything if something were to happen.

Anyways, it was a great flight but as soon as we landed my anxiety picked back up again. I needed to rush through customs, get my luggage and re-check in within 30 minutes in order to make my next and last flight to Cuzco. I was feeling like a champ when I was one of the first people off the plane and in line for customs, however no one on the flight gave us immigration cards and when I got up there the lady wouldn’t give me a card to fill out on the spot so I had to go fill it out on the side…by the time I was done the rest of the plane was in line. Major fail.

The next step was to get my luggage. When the last bag was picked off the conveyer belt I was a bit panicked. An airport attendant informed me that there were more bags being loaded on and to just wait…well, I waited for about 10 minutes before he came back to tell me there were no more bags coming. Thanks LAN airlines. This isn’t my first rodeo, so I filed a claim and prayed to the travel gods that my luggage would actually arrive at my hostel within the next 24hrs as promised. Otherwise, I’m going on a shopping spree for a full Peruvian wardrobe. Happy birthday to me!

At this point my connecting flight to Cuzco was long gone…no worries though, I was put on a new flight that would leave 2 hours later than planned.

As I sat on my flight to Cuzco and looked down upon the beauty of Peru, I realized that I could have handled this morning so differently. I could have cried. I could have blamed everyone around me. I could have gotten angry. I could have had a terrible attitude about my trip. All things I probably would have done in the past. Instead I decided, I’m 26 today. I’m in Peru today. I arrived here safely, with warm clothes on my back, a place to stay, food in my belly and money in my wallet. Suck it up and focus on the positive.

Side note: they showed Garden State during the flight…someone, somewhere in the world of flight knew it was my burfday!

Here are some pics from today!

20140720-182431-66271489.jpg

20140720-182431-66271849.jpg

20140720-182432-66272211.jpg

20140720-182432-66272586.jpg

20140720-182433-66273161.jpg

Leave a Reply

