Peru 2014

Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer.

Today is our last day in Perú :(. Time flew by very quickly and although I’m ready for consistently hot showers and to not be living out of a backpack, I’m going to miss this beautiful country.

Before I express my love for today’s events, let me take you back to last night. It was our last night in Machu Picchu and we were scheduled to catch the train back Ollantaytambo at 9:30pm. Our train was delayed for 2 hours due to mechanical issues and we worried we wouldn’t be able to get into our hostel by the time we arrived in Ollantaytambo. We arrived around 2am and walked about 15 minutes to our hostel. When we got there, the door was locked (originally we told them to plan for our arrival around 11pm so we figured that when we didn’t show up everyone went to bed). We knocked and knocked, and tried calling. No luck. Katriena started yelling politely to see if anyone would wake up. Shortly after I recommended we just sleep on the benches outside, Roberto came walking down the sidewalk! Roberto, aka “wow”, lives a few doors down from the hostel and heard Kat yelling – THANK GOD! It was cold and we had to be up in 3 hours, so being able to sleep in a bed was amazing.

This morning we woke up, had a lovely breakfast and headed to the main plaza to catch a collectivo back to Cuzco. Once in Cuzco, we dropped our bags off at a hostel and made our way to the Choco Museo to take our chocolate making class! We learned so much about how to make chocolate and the cacao bean and Katriena won the contest for the best mushing of the cacao bean! We got to choose our flavors and I made dark chocolate with coconut, sea salt (my fav), almonds and coffee beans…can’t wait to munch on those on my way home!

After our chocolate making class we did some more shopping (we can’t get enough of the alpaca apparel here) and then got a late lunch before heading to the airport.

Get this…for lunch, we had guinea pig! It’s a delicacy here and super expensive, but we couldn’t leave without trying it! They served it to us baked…head and arms included! Honestly, it wasn’t that bad. It didn’t have a lot of meat on it, and once I saw the kidneys my stomach turned, but the meat itself was pretty good. They also served it over a plate of French fries and with a yummy sauce. Along with guinea pig, we tried Perú’s signature cocktail – the Pisco sour. I wasn’t a fan of it. It has a foam layer at the top made of egg white and I just couldn’t get over that. Alcohol and eggs just don’t mix in my opinion.

All in all, it was a great last day here. I’ve had such an amazing time and am so grateful to have had this experience. South America has swept me off my feet and I can’t wait to return. Special shout out to my travel bestie, pretty Kitty. I love having these amazing adventures with you! Thank you for being my soul sister ❤

Thanks for joining me on my adventure, friends! Until the next one…

"The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes" – Marcel Proust

20140731-215439-78879155.jpg

20140731-215440-78880069.jpg

20140731-215439-78879770.jpg

20140731-215440-78880807.jpg

20140731-215440-78880414.jpg

20140731-215439-78879470.jpg

Leave a Reply

